Skip to content ↓

Trustees and Responsibilities

Roles and responsibilities

The Board of Trustees (BoT) are the decision-making body of the trust, accountable and responsible for all its schools. The trustees have three core functions: 

  Ensuring clarity of the vision, ethos and strategic direction 

  1. Holding the executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the schools and its pupils and the effective and efficient performance management of staff 
  2. Overseeing the financial performance of the schools and making sure that money is well spent. 

The BoT has three committees; Audit and Risk Committee (ARC), Finance and Resources Committee (FRC) and Standards Committee (SC).


Daniel Login
Chair of Trustees

Dan was initially a governor at Brandles School from 2018 before joining the Trust in 2020. At the London School of Economics, he manages the careers operations functions and leads projects to develop and improve student experience and engagement, in addition to a role looking after student wellbeing in accommodation. He has previous higher education governance experience and is currently a trustee for the students’ union at the University of Bedfordshire. Dan is particularly passionate about widening participation and access, having been the first in his family to attend university.

Dave Wickham

Vice Chair of Trustees, Chair of Audit and Risk Committee and Larwood Link

Dave is currently Director of IT and Security for Parser and has worked in technology for over 19 years across financial services, software development, media and outsourcing. He also has experience in risk management, corporate governance, shareholder and stakeholder engagement, performance monitoring, information security, GDPR and audits. Davie is a father of two primary school age children and therefore education is of the upmost importance to him.

Ruth Ashmore

Co-Safeguarding Link

Ruth has spent her career in the NHS, initially as a nurse supporting children and young people and for the last 20 years in senior leadership positions at both regional and national level developing strategic services and policy. She is currently the Regional Director of Commissioning for the East of England. She is particularly passionate about supporting children and young people to start well and to get the best from their education.

Debra Eason
Chair of Standards Committee and Co-Safeguarding Link

Debra is currently Director of ISS Consultancy which provides a range of support for special schools. She is a senior educational leadership professional with over 25 years of experience ranging from design management in industry through to a wide variety of education roles including Executive Headteacher and Principal. She is widely experienced in both SEN and mainstream environments from primary, through secondary and up to adult FE. Outside of work, Debra enjoys drawing, painting and illustration.

Steve Marchant

Steve has two children, one currently and one previously at Larwood School. Steve is a health and safety professional with a background in heavy construction and port logistics and an experienced risk manager. He believes that everyone should have the opportunity to be the best they can and understands the importance of education for all young people. He is an advocate for wellbeing and mental health and in his spare time, Steve is a passionate outdoor enthusiast, carpenter, musician and crafter.

Wendy Openshaw

Wendy has a son who previously studied at Larwood School and has now transitioned to Brandles School.

Justine Sharp
Chair of Finance and Resources Committee

Justine is an experienced management accountant, predominantly within the law practice industry. She currently works as a Senior Application Consultant at Thomson Reuters. Justine lives with her family in Stevenage and is passionate about representing the town in a positive light and growing the special needs support and provision available to young people in Hertfordshire.